Facility Naming Committee Minutes Fowlerville Community Schools June 12, 2023

Central Office Conference Room, 6:30 p.m.

The meeting was called to order at 6: 31 p.m. by Mrs. Susan Charron in the C.O. Conference Room.

Members Present:	Mrs. Sue Charron, Ms. Amanda Bonneville, Mrs. Molly Moulton, Ms. Trisha Reed & Mr. Reggie Talbot		
Members Absent:	Ms. Sarah Smith & Mr. Hank Vaupel		
Staff Present:	Mr. Matt Stuard, Superintendent		
Othora Braganti	Nono		

Others Present: None

There were no previous minutes to approve since this is the first meeting of this Ad Hoc Committee.

Call to the Public - None

<u>Discussion</u> – Committee member introductions took place. An online form and paper form will be created, with a link to the online survey on the district homepage. A Thursday, July 15^{th} deadline for the public to fill out the online form. An October 3, 2023 Board naming deadline. Mr. Stuard will ask about construction naming deadline.

Names discussed for the new K-2 building included: Tom Tanner Stephen & Dawn Horton Donald Knoodle Larson Elementary Jan & Rusty Wakeman Jan Fleck

An idea was suggested to name the library after Mrs. Rambo.

Other Business - The next Facility Naming Committee meeting will take place Monday, August 7, 2023.

Motion by Moulton, supported by Bonneville, recommending adjournment of the meeting at 7:04 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.

Facility Naming Committee Minutes Fowlerville Community Schools August 7, 2023

Central Office Conference Room, 6:30 p.m.

The meeting was called to order at 6: p.m. by Mrs. Susan Charron in the C.O. Break Room.

Members Present:	Mrs. Sue Charron, Ms. Amanda Bonneville, Mrs. Molly Moulton, Ms. Trisha
	Reed & Ms. Sarah Smith, Mr. Reggie Talbot & Mr. Hank Vaupel
Members Absent:	None
Staff Present:	None
Others Present:	None

Motion by Amanda Bonneville, supported by Molly Moulton, to approve minutes from the June 12, 2023 meeting were approved. The motion passed unanimously.

Call to the Public - None

Committee discussion took place.

Motion by Hank Vaupel, supported by Reggie Talbot, to name the new K-2 Elementary Building Fowlerville Early Elementary School. The motion passed unanimously.

Other Business – It was not determined if another Facility Naming Committee meeting would be needed, it depends on what the full Board decides. A suggestion to name wings of the new building for different nominees. Brick recognition for nominated individuals? floor plan sent to group.

Motion by Amanda Bonneville, supported by Hank Vaupel, recommending adjournment of the meeting at 7:00 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.

The Facility Naming Committee will be guided in the selection process by the following guidelines:

• The committee will develop appropriate nomination forms which will reflect the criteria established for naming opportunities.

1

- Nominations shall be made by completing the designated nomination form and submitting the form to the committee by an established deadline.
- All applications and related materials submitted to the committee will be posted on the district web site and will become public record.
- Members of the Facility Naming Committee shall review the file for each nomination. Members will select, through nominations and vote, a recommendation of three names to be forwarded to the Board of Education for review and final selection and approval.
- If the namesake is a living person, that individual's consent must be obtained in writing before the renaming nomination is submitted for the Board consideration. To the extent possible, the next of kin of a deceased person should be consulted for consent regarding the proposed naming.

Proposed Name	Number of Votes
Gladiator Elementary School	5
Gladiator Honor Elementary School	
Growing Gladiators Early Childhood Center	
Glad Land Elementary School	
Fowlerville Early Elementary School	7
Fowlerville Elementary School	3
Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry	
Ludus Elementary School	
Noble Elementary School	
Oak Grove Elementary School	
Patriot Elementary School	1
Woods Elementary School	
Bonnie Cholino-Roddenberg Elementary School	
Adam Coon Elementary School	
Dan Coon Elementary School	
Vance DeCamp Elementary School	
Linsey Ebert Elementary School	
Janet jenkins Fleck Elementary School	
Jeff Soli Elementary School	
Dawn and Steve Horton Elementary School	1
Larson Elementary School	2

Sheila Larson Elementary School	
Sheila and Bob Larson Elementary School	
Ms. Opal Lee Elementary School	
Rosa Oliver Elementary School	
H.T. Smith Elementary School	1